The Mind influences the Feet

God’s word instructs us “do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable, and perfect (Romans12:2).” I am thankful to have had the opportunity to serve around people, both students and adults, who have a passion for Jesus that involves learning His word and reading resources that help us obey Christ. Even in preparation for our departure, some students have requested a reading list to continue with even in our absence. One of the reasons it is a joy to do this, is because I know these particular students are not just trying to fill their heads up, but understand by filling their minds up they are faithfully obeying Paul’s words above to renew their minds which should lead to a walk that is faithful. To put it a negative way, if you are not renewing your mind with the word of God and other resources that help you in your walk with Christ, you very well might be conforming to this world.

A book written for this purpose is Worldliness: Resisting the Seduction of a Fallen World. This would be a great book to go through with some other followers of Christ who are honest and willing to admit where their lives have begun to look more like the pattern of this world rather than the Scriptures. This book helped me to see areas I had a tendency to conform and encouraged me in areas I needed to continue leading my family in.

I am also providing the last three messages from Alistair Begg in his series titled “Why Bother with the Bible?”. I know I enjoy downloading these and either listening to them in my car, on the treadmill or while I am cutting grass. They typically are no more than 30 minutes and the Truth for Life ministry has been very helpful to me and my walk with Christ for the last 9 years.

Why Bother With the Bible, Part Two, B

Why Bother With the Bible, Part Three, A

Why Bother With the Bible, Part Three, B

Posted on July 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

