Is it “Your” Team?

We are approaching the time of year many of us began talking about months ago. I must admit I too love this time of year and the approaching college basketball tournament. It might  be because The Ohio State Buckeyes are still #1, but I would be excited even if they were hoping for an NIT birth. If you listen to people talk about their teams, you will hear them use words like “my” or “us.” Do these people really believe they are on the team? Is there anyone on the court playing the game giving them a call beforehand to get a word of encouragement or direction? I don’t think so. In fact, even if Ohio State goes on to win the National Championship (Like I intend them to), I won’t be receiving any ring in the mail. I don’t anticipate they will be giving me a call to cut a part of the net. I might photoshop my image into the team picture, but it won’t be because they gave me a heads up call and told me what time to be there.

Recently I have been reading through 1 Corinthians and as I was reading through the 15th chapter, I began to have these thoughts go through my mind.

“For as by a man came death, by a man has come also the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, so also in Christ shall all be made alive. But each in his own order: Christ the firstfruits, then at his coming those who belong to Christ. 1 Corinthians 15:21-23″

You see, even though we really like our sports or other teams, the fact is that most of us are not good enough to make the team. Maybe we are not big enough, tall enough, fast enough, pretty enough, have enough money, or are smart enough.

This Sunday night in the Youth meeting we are going to look at what God says it takes to be on His team. Does He require me to be something or someone I am not good enough to be? Each year there is usually a new #1 or a new National Champion. What is it like to be on God’s team? I hope you will plan to be here and can bring someone with you.

Posted on March 8, 2011, in Youth. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

