Partnering in Painting

The Apostle Paul told the Philippian believers that he derived joy from their partnership.

I give thanks to my God for every remembrance of you, always praying with joy for all of you in my every prayer, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now (Philippians 1:3-5).”

What does that have to do with painting, you might ask? I think everything. If you just view the gospel as a one time event that bears no responsibility and privilege for the rest of your life, than this idea of painting for the furtherance of the gospel makes no sense. You have what you need, so just let me get on with the rest of my life and I will be around when I have time.

However, if you view the gospel as an event that did occur in the past, where Jesus died for your sins and rose from the dead three days later, and has bearing on your life when you first believed and still believe, than painting for the glory of God is possible tomorrow. We are not just painting because the walls need it. We are painting an area of our church building because we believe this space can serve to help youth grow in the gospel and go for the gospel.

I hope to see many of you here tomorrow at 10am. I do understand that schedules do not always allow for it. However, if your schedule does allow for it, I hope you will come. I also hope you will see it as an opportunity to partner “in painting” for the gospel. It will require sacrifice, as most opportunities do, as we continue to follow Christ.

Posted on January 7, 2011, in Parents, Youth. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wish we lived closer,would have loved to help with the painting.

Leave a Reply

