Am I Zesty?

Proverbs 11:11…”A city is built up by the blessing of the upright, but it is torn down by the mouth of the wicked.”

If you are a follower of Christ your life should be a life of blessing to others. Is my life a blessing to the city of Evansville? Am I seeking to be a blessing to this city, or will you find me spending most of my time complaining about it? In fact, whether the city wants to admit it or not, it’s future is dependent upon me to be a blessing for it. I can say this because I know I have the greatest and most urgent message one can have, the gospel (2 Corinthians 5:17-21).

I am also reminded of the words of our Lord in Matthew’s gospel, “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt should lose its taste, how can it be made salty? It’s no longer good for anything but to be thrown out and trampled on by men (Matthew 5:13).”

In his exposition of these verses and the different uses of salt in the first century, Sinclair Ferguson explains, “We are familiar with another property of salt: it not only preserves, but it also seasons. It brings out the flavour. According to The Oxford English Dictionary, one meaning of the word season is ‘give zest to.’ Christians should have zest! Jesus surely has this in mind also. ‘Seasoning’ society is not a matter of being Scrooge-like personalities whose presence brings a pall of depression and whose entrance marks the exit of joy. On the contrary, the presence of God’s people should ‘increase the flavor’ of life in many different ways. After all, we come to our friends, neighbors, co-workers, or fellow students as those who have been-and still are-in the presence of Jesus Christ, who has given us abundant life (John 10:10). Everything about us should express the attractiveness as well as the holiness of our Lord.”

Although I realize I am only “upright” before the Lord because of my faith in the Person and Work of Jesus Christ, does my walk with Him bring a blessing to my home, my school, my job, and my city? Am I zesty?

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

