Spiritual Discernment that costs

In his book, The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment, Tim Challies makes this observation concerning Matthew 10:34-37. “With discernment comes division. A person must be willing to suffer the effects of this division. It will divide not only believer from unbeliever, but it may even divide a discerning believer from one who is undiscerning. It will separate the mature from the immature, the naive from the prudent.”

Are you and I willing to do what is right and honoring to God, even if we are going to be the only ones doing it?

As we continue the Wisdom Challenge, I hope you are reading a Proverb a day with us. Today Proverbs 4:23 was the verse for me. In fact, verses 23-27 were my focus.

Proverbs 4:23 “Guard your heart above all else, for it is the source of life (HCSB).”

How might I evaluate whether I am guarding my heart?

Verse 24..my mouth “words”–> Do my words build up or tear down?

Verse 25..my eyes–> What do I spend my time watching or viewing?

Verses 26-27..my feet–> Where do I spend my time going and what am I doing?

How I answer these questions can begin to give me some insight into whether I am guarding my heart and keeping Jesus as the source of my life.

Posted on October 4, 2010, in Parents, Youth. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

