Relationship Revolution Recap

What is a revolution? What I find consistent concerning the definition of a revolution is a change. Not just an ordinary change but a significant change from something to another.

Our Youth had an opportunity to participate in an associational youth event last night called Relationship Revolution. It was an evening of singing praise, hearing from God’s word, and small group time. All in all it was a pretty good evening and I am thankful for the opportunity to attend the event with students and adults from Vann Avenue.

It was also the first time for me to hear Braxton Hunter. I was thankful for his perspective and challenge to the students that their first and primary relationship is with Jesus Christ. If the students relationship with Christ is not one in which they are growing more passionate about Him, their other relationships are destined for failure.

All in all, I didn’t hear anything too revolutionary. In fact, I am a bit disappointed with the lack of challenge for middle and high school students to really live radically different than the world and its perspective on relationships.

One of the last books I have read on relationships is, I Kissed Dating Goodbye, by Joshua Harris. Although the book can be somewhat misleading, it is not all about having students end dating relationships but really having them look to the Scriptures concerning God’s view versus the world’s view of dating. I uploaded this video to give you a taste. It is my goal by the end of next school year to not only lead Vann’s students through it but also parents.

Posted on April 24, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I Kissed Dating Goodbye is a great book! I would encourage teenagers and their parents to read this book together!

Leave a Reply

