Joy in Stiff Neck?

I was reminded last night that anyone who teaches the Bible must first examine their own heart before they can really teach anyone. We took a look at James 1:2-4 last night and try to see the difference between a trial and a temptation. We summarized the necessity of a trial to #1 Grow us in maturity and #2 Show genuineness.

But God tells us to “Consider it a great joy, my brothers, whenever you experience various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.”

What’s this got to do with a stiff neck you might be asking? When I wrapped everything up last night and finally got home, I noticed my neck was getting stiff and was probably going to hurt even today. Well, I was right. I also knew that if it did hurt I probably wasn’t going to be able to run in  the morning. Well, I was right. However, I caught myself being tempted to complain or get discouraged and almost immediately I thought “Consider it a great joy.” Now I am not doing any summersaults over this, for fear of future injury, but I am thankful that God the Holy Spirit reminded me of the Word of God in my time of need. He’s in control and I am finding joy in this stiff neck!

If you have any similar experiences, let me know.

Posted on April 8, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Rodney,
    First of all, the picture of the cat is hilarious. As soon as I saw it, I busted out laughing in my classroom (audibly)! I’m not sure why it seemed that funny to me, but it did. 🙂

    Secondly, I had a similar realization Wednesday night after church. It was storming very badly when Allen and I finally got the kids home and ready for bed. It was about 11:45 when my phone rang and I got a phone call that school was cancelled for Thursday due to damage to one of the school buildings (caused by the storm). While most people were overjoyed that we were not having school the next day, I was bummed because then we have to make it up at the end of the year (we have started to add additional days onto the calendar). Needless to say, I wasn’t thrilled about the cancellation. However, I remembered what you talked about on Wednesday night with the youth about “considering it a joy”. So, instead of pouting and complaining that school will probably last until June, I decided to make the most of it and “consider it a joy”. God ended up blessing me with the opportunity to spend much needed quality time with Emma and Allen yesterday. I got to experience the joy of taking my daughter to the park and of cooking a nice dinner for my husband. How great God is! 🙂

    –Keshia

  2. Dude,
    I can’t beleive you have a blog and you didn’t tell me about it. very clean and neat, no big surprise. But what is up with a pic of a cat?

    I am supposed to share a trial. I totally relate to each angle of this post. 1. been there on the whole, teach a lesson then get smacked in the face with it the next day. 2. Also with you on the whole facing a trial thing. seasonal allergies give me an annual opportunity to endure something beyond my control. Here in TX they have hit quick and hard. just the other day I bent down to get my shoes and a huge slimy blob of snot dripped out of my nose. As I tried to clean it up i thought, “hmm, God made me this way on purpose. I am supposed to be thankful about this.” I realized that I cannot practially celebrate snot on my face but did have the frame of mind, by grace no doubt, in that moment to be reminded that God made me unique and for a purpose. so whether I have snot on my face or not, God made me for his glory, and he is most glorified in me, when I am most satisfied in HIM!!

Leave a Reply

